Golden, Colo.,
12:00 PM

Lutheran Medical Center honors caregivers for 2023

Annual event Crabtree Brown Physician

Dr. Steve Brown accepts the Physician of the Year Award by phone at the Lutheran Medical Center annual Medical Staff meeting and dinner September 21. 

Congratulations to the 2023 award winners, recognized for their clinical excellence and teamwork, leadership and loyalty, revealed and celebrated at Lutheran Medical Center's annual Medical Staff meeting and dinner September 21. The annual event took place at The Buffalo Rose in Golden. Guests rustled up their chicest cowboy hats, boots and denim for a relaxed and meaningful night. 

Physician of the Year: Steven Brown, MD
Unable to attend the event, he accepted the award and shared his gratitude via phone. Recently retired, Brown served the medical staff and our patients for decades.

APP of the Year: Kat Gouldy, NP
Introduced by Jeff DesJardin, MD, colleagues say working with Gouldy is "an honor and a pleasure; she's the heart and soul of the orthopedic service at Lutheran."

Nurse of the Year: Katie Exner, RN
Introduced by Allan Brants, MD, colleagues describe her as "unflappable in the ICU. Intelligent and hardworking, kind and a strong communicator." 

Collaborative Practice Award Winner: Julia Whitaker, MD
Introduced by Eliza Paulin, Whitaker was recognized for prioritizing a team approach to patient care and valuing the insight and skill of the nursing staff.

New Honorary Staff Member: Jennifer Caskey, MD
Introduced by Bekkey Wiebe, MD, Caskey's influence as a physician and leader has enhanced care at Lutheran and will change how the community accesses needed care for generations.